Awesome Movie

Awesome Movie – Snowball Express

Jumping into the way back files here for this weeks movie… this past week here in the greater Chicago are we had a March snowstorm that delivered 9.5 inches of the fluffy white cold stuff.  This naturally inspired me to do a snow/winter themed movie.  There aren’t a lot of those that aren’t centered around the winter holiday season.  I figured this close to Easter and St. Patrick’s Day I will hold of on those and go with Snowball Express.

The movie came out 3 years before I was born.  So set your expectations accordingly… This is one of my favorite memories as a child.  When I watched this movie the first time the video rental industry was so new that you actually rented the VCR along with whatever video you rented.  I can recount this whole movie for you, we watched it so many times growing up, but that first time we watched I remember my whole family laughing.  we laughed so hard I thought my sides would hurt.  It doesn’t make me laugh that hard anymore mostly because I know what is going to happen.  To tell you the truth it has probably been 15 or more years since I last watched it.

This is the story of a middle-class man who works in a middle-class job in the mid-west.  With that set up you can imagine that his life is somewhat mediocre and boring.  However one day he receives a letter one day that informs him that he has inherited a ski lodge in the sleepy town of Silver Hills Colorado.   He immediately quits his job, packs up his family, and heads out west.   Where the town is small, the hotel is run down, and a greedy banker is ready to cheat him out of it all.  Add  a clever little boy, a fortuitous avalanche, and a wild snowmobile race and you have the makings of a fun family movie.

The cast includes Dean Jones (who seemed to be the dad in about every Disney movie in the ’60s and ’70s), Harry Morgan (M.A.S.H.), Keenan Wynn (who coincidentally played the “bad guy” in many of the Disney movies with Dean Jones), Nancy Olson,  Johnny Whitaker, George Lindsay, Kathleen Cody, and Mary Wickes.

This is one you can watch with tho whole family, while it is a little outdated and I can’t guarantee that you will laugh as hard as my family did in the early ’80s… if you grab a bowl of popcorn, a warm blanket or two, and  curl up with the family this movie will top off nicely a fun family night

P.S. you can watch this right from YouTube for $1.99

Check out my Movie List for this and more Awesome movies.

One thought on “Awesome Movie – Snowball Express

  1. Colonel Sherman T. Potter (Dude from M*A*S*H)!!! I remember watching this movie with my Dad! Thanks for bringing back a good memory.

Leave a Reply

