Dadventure

On a “3 Hour Tour” (actually 2 1/2 hours and no deserted island…)

The Nautilus

Just sit right back and you’ll hear a tale, a tale of a… well you know how the rest of this goes.  That song was going through my head as the captain of our whale watching trip announced that they’d be taking us out on a 2 1/2 hour tour.

In my head I put it all together…

2 1/2 hour tour…

that’s almost  3 hours…

so a 3 hour tour…

A 3 HOUR TOUR…. Where is Gilligan..?

Never fear this Dadventure ends up a lot better than the three hour tour that Gilligan and company took.  One of the great things about living in Southern California is it seems like there is a never ending list of adventures.  So for this one we were off to Newport Beach where we took a boat trip out into the great wide ocean looking for whales… which we didn’t find.  Believe it or not they are not they don’t adhere to a strict schedule… we did however see sea lions, harbor seals, and dolphins… It was such a kick!  We sat out on the bow of the ship and my boys kept alternating from sitting back with my wife and I and crowding together at the tip of the bow with the rest of the kids to see what they could see.

My Little Sea Explorers

There is no secret that my kids are into science, my oldest is all about anything science from space to biology to building a robot…  My youngest loves sharks and when you ask him when he wants to be when he grows up he’ll tell you that he wants to be a marine biologist (pronounced bee-ologist).  So an adventure like this just get’s these guys brains going.  The first time they see an animal of the bow of the boat you would think that they are all Jacques Cousteau.  In fact it had such an impact on my youngest that he was drawing about it a couple weeks later:

This was the first time that I had ever taken a trip on a boat in the ocean… just to go out around the ocean.  Any other boat trip that I have been on has been to and/or from somewhere.  I can see how there are people that love the sea life the sun, the smells, the spray of the surf… It was all pretty exciting.  We went out on a trip from these guys: Newport Landing Whale Watching  for those of you thinking “wow, I want to do that…” you can check them out and schedule a trip.  For the rest of you here is a quick video to give you a glimpse of the experience:

P.S.  If you didn’t have the Gilligan’s Isle theme in your head yet here is a great version to get you there:

Leave a Reply

