Uncategorized

On “An Evening with Kevin Smith”

AEKS Marquis
I received a great early birthday present from my Mom and siblings this year. They all chipped in and got me a ticket to see Kevin Smith speak at the Orpheum in LA. I am a huge fan…nuff said. The show is impressive when you consider that he has no script, just that a large audience is there to hear him speak. if you want an idea of what the show is like go to your local video store and look up “An Evening with Kevin Smith” or “An Evening with Kevin Smith 2: Evening Harder“. At times it is just crass juvenile humor which I very much enjoy and at times need. Sometimes it is inspirational as well, and Saturday night did not disappoint.

Anyone who was there will probably tell you about the pot stories, his stories about George Carlin, the story about Jason Mewes’ cock, etc… Which were all great, I am really glad however that he took nearly 45 mins to segue into a story about watching a documentary about Candian Hockey and how hit turned him into a Gretzky fan. I could care less that it was about either of those two subjects, cause I barely understand hockey, and before Saturday night new little more about Wayne Gretzky than that he is the “Michael Jordan” of hockey.

Kevin explained that through watching the documentary at a very vulnerable time for himself that he learned that he needed to get back to his roots of being an innovator. Not going where the puck is, but going where the puck is going to be. 15 years ago he made “Clerks” a comedy for an audience unrepresented at that time. Now it is an audience represented well, and the concept of going where the puck is going to be spoke to him and is driving him in new and what I think will be exciting directions.

Because he saw that documentary and was inspired, he was able to turn it into inspiration for others. I went there to be entertained by “dick and fart” jokes. I came away with an inspiring lesson that hit me at just the right time. I am going to stop going where the puck is and start going where the puck is going to be!

Snoogins!

One thought on “On “An Evening with Kevin Smith”

Leave a Reply

