Uncategorized

On Running the Nike+ Human Race

2009 HR Bib NumberJune 5th 2008, That was the day I became a runner. Believe me it was a slow start… 2.5 miles in 40mins 25secs. since then I have been slowly building momentum both in speed and distance. Since then I have run 472 miles 200 of which have come over the past two months in the process of training for this year’s Nike+ Human Race

Last year I ran (walked) the Nike+ Human Race 10K. I finished it in 1hr 42mins 45secs… not to bad for a fat guy who had just started moving his body in an effort to get healthy. So this year I was looking to improve substantially because I have actually done more running. This year my wife and her friends set a goal to run a Triathlon in July so they started training. In an effort to be supportive I pushed myself to move from walking to running. It was interesting because my wife and I have developed our own running styles. She runs fast. her pace is somwhere between 8 mins and 7 mins per mile. She maxes out her distances at around 4 miles. I on the other hand run slower but run double the distance. My max is 8 miles, but I am gearing up for some 10 Mile runs shortly.

I like the concept of the Human Race because you can race wherever you are. You do it on your own. Last year I did it around and through San Dimas. This year I ran around Highgrove. I run by myself and the real competition is between me and the road. Just like it is every time I walk out the door. I set a distance and run. The voice in my head spurring me on reminding me that this is not the day I am going to let the road beat me.

This year My wife and our boys cheered my on the whole way. The whole time they were driving ahead to take pictures and wave signs. Running like my wife have been has been good for our family. Our boys look forward to running on our family runs each week, a tradition we instituted because our boys wanted to get involved in the action.

So with no further ado here are the results for this year’s Nike+ Human Race: 10km in 1hr 2mins and 48 seconds. A new personal record for me, and out of the 80,000 or so participants at last check I placed 13,328th

I can’t wait to do it again next year.

p.s. here are the pics:

2009 HR 2km
2km into the run!

2009 HR 8km
2km left to go

2009 HR Big Finish
The big finish (with help)!

2009 HR Victory Celebration
Celebrating(resting) with my boys!

4 thoughts on “On Running the Nike+ Human Race

  1. Great job! My friend and I are doing the same “fat guys who use running to get healthy” blog idea and can definitely sympathize with the battles with the road. Keep on running!!

Leave a Reply

